“Our Garden of Everyday” No.6: Anemones for friendship!

anemones for friendship

It’s official: the Spring is here! the bulbs planted last year are starting to show their colours: crocus, daffodils, primroses, hyacinths… it is just lovely. Around the gardens, the buds in the naked trees promise leaves and sun and warmer days.  The earth is preparing to explode in colours and fantasy… Accordingly, I am progressing in my series of “Our Garden of Everyday”, this time, thanks to a lovely present from my friend Sam Warren, who stayed in recent days for a creative and inspiring time!  She brought me a bunch of anemones. This is a beautiful flower, which in greek means “windflower”. In Greek mythology, the anemona sprang from Aphrodite’s tears as she mourned the death of her beloved Adonis. In fact the big corollas of this flower look like a black pearl of love, dramatically standing against the cyan petals.  As a “daughter of the wind” this flower is very delicate and fragile… it symbolises the fragility of love and affections.  This makes me think also about friendship: friends like flowers need to be looked after. It is not enough to meet somebody and to exchange some few nice moments, friendship requires patience, perseverance, courting… the story of the fox in his dialogue with the Little Prince can illustrate that:

Little Prince:  “I am looking for friends. What does that mean — tame?”
“It is an act too often neglected,” said the fox. “It means to establish ties.”
“To establish ties?”
“Just that,” said the fox. “To me, you are still nothing more than a little boy who is just like a hundred thousand other little boys. And I have no need of you. And you, on your part, have no need of me. To you I am nothing more than a fox like a hundred thousand other foxes. But if you tame me, then we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world….”

“You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed.”

In order to paint this flower, I had to think carefully about the hues and paints. It is a dramatic colour with a dark heart. It anticipates the spring, as one anticipates love and friendship. The fox knows that the Little Prince will visit, he prepares his heart for this encounter. Likewise, when you meet friends, you fill your heart with joy for the times to come. But as the Fox said, this is also a big responsiblity and something to look after.  This particular interpretation of the anemone’s meaning is rather appropriate for me. I had been working on making sense and project managing the exhibition to the point that it was becoming a bit of a “job”… something that I don’t want!!!! Indeed, it was because this sense of “obligation” that I am taking this step of “slowing down” and enjoy life. For me LIVING BEAUTIFULLY, means not only to make art, but to live my life in a beautiful way: and this is expressed in the way I write, I walk or talk, or the way in which I cultivate with great care and patience the thread of friendships that keep me going in this planet.  LIVING BEAUTIFULLY is about appreciating the marvels of life, the small and big things, the sunsets and the flowers, the precious times shared with those who care for you. The anemones are here to remind me that… thanks!

One thought on ““Our Garden of Everyday” No.6: Anemones for friendship!

  1. Pingback: My Next exhibition: Frida and Me. F, for Femininity | beatriz acevedo art

Leave a Reply

