Sorry about the gap

A great blog about when “a work of art is complete”: a very appropriate blog for my own creative process. Yesterday I was struggling with two paintings… I destroyed one to re make it… and the other… well, it is coming along… but I was truly entangled. Thanks Ann!

Annjrippin's Blog

IMG_2456

I’m very sorry that I haven’t posted much this month.  Oddly May-July is a really busy time for me and a lot of academics.  We have exams, exam marking, exam boards, external examining of other people’s exams, seeing lots of fed-up students, doing course reviews, getting stuff ready for  conferences and so on.  So not much time for anything.

But I thought I would share this quotation I found in the London Review of Books.  It’s from Charles Collingwood, who was a British philosopher, now slightly out of fashion.  It’s taken from a new biography of him in which he talks about what he learned about what constitutes a work of art as he was growing up:

I learned to think of a picture not as a finished product exposed for the attention of virtuosi, but the visible record, lying about the house, of an attempt to solve a definite…

View original post 679 more words

Leave a Reply

